Fools and Their Money Are Quick To Part

Everyday, I drive past Starbucks.  And everyday, I shake my head at the number of cars waiting in line.  Today, I almost shook my head hard enough to cause a concussion.

This morning, the line must have been 20 cars long.  I cannot think of a single thing that would cause me to wait in a line 20 cars deep.  Is there some sort of addictive drug in the coffee there that makes people lose their common sense?  The same people that wait 20 deep there are the ones that complain loudly when they have to wait 30 seconds to checkout at the grocery store.

As someone who does not drink coffee, maybe I don’t understand the allure of Starbucks.  It must be a status thing because the coffee there is a little pricey.  Personally, I could care less about status when it comes to brands.  I will drink Sam’s cola, and eat generic cereal.  It is amazing to me how quickly someone will part with their money for a cup of coffee.  I bet if I watched that store for a week, I would see mostly the same cars every day.  They will pay their $7 for a cup of coffee, and blindly part with $35 in a week.

If this is you, try to do without for just a week.  I remember the time we reviewed our family budget and found we were spending over $50 a weekend eating out.  We quickly eliminated that type of spending; yes we still eat out sometimes, but not to the tune of $50 or more a weekend.

3 Responses to Fools and Their Money Are Quick To Part

  1. Status is an unattainable goal. It is led by fear and self doubt. To semi-quote Audrey Hepburn; The beauty of a person is not in the clothes they wear, the figure that they carry, or the way they comb their hair. The beauty of someone is seen in their eyes, because that is the doorway to their heart, the place where love resides.

  2. Pingback: Are you #trending? « Our Not So Expert Opinions

  3. Pingback: Show Some Restraint « Our Not So Expert Opinions

Leave a Reply

