Love is in the air

I don’t understand Valentine’s Day.  Stick with me here.

I don’t understand what would possess someone to spend $50, $60, $70 or more on a dozen roses.  Or upwards of $20 on chocolate covered fruits.  I don’t understand a single thing about this “holiday.”

What makes today so special?  Is it the overpriced flowers?  The overpriced chocolate?  The long lines at every restaurant?

I guess you could say that I am not a fan of Valentine’s Day at all.  Want to know the best part?  Neither is Amber.  We just cannot wrap our minds around why people drain their checking accounts to get their special someone the perfect gift.  Do you remember what you got for Valentine’s Day last year?  How about the year before?  If not, and I am going to guess that you do not remember, was that gift so special after all?  Was it worth the money spent?

I am also confused as to why I am supposed to love my wife more today.  Does that mean that I can love her less tomorrow?  I am going to let you in on a little secret of ours:  we love each other more every day, and do not need a certain day to remind us of that.  I almost feel bad for the people who put so much stock in Valentine’s Day.

I did not spend a dime on Amber this Valentine’s Day, and Amber did not spend a dime on me, extending our streak of not celebrating it to 9 years.  And the one year we did “celebrate,” we spent a combined grand total of less than $20 on a picture frame and fake flowers (daisies) in a vase full of Hershey Kisses.

If you and the one you love are celebrating today, more power to you, and I hope that you enjoy yourselves.  But if you need today to remind you that you love the one you are with, maybe that is not such a good thing.

Leave a Reply

