Hitting Triple Digits

image

Fenway Park turns 100 today.  A century ago, the Red Sox opened Fenway with a 7-6 win over the New York Highlanders, and today they take on the Yankees (the Highlanders later became the Yankees).  A lot has changed in our country and in baseball over the last century, but little has changed at Fenway.

Gone is Duffy’s Cliff in left, the Green Monster in its place.  Seats have been added, the bullpens placed beyond the right field fence, and the Pesky Pole has become a fixture.  But little else has changed.  Fenway Park, for the most part, is the same today as it was a century ago.

I have made one trip to Boston and have seen two games at Fenway.  I vividly remember those frigid post-Mother’s Day games in May 2000 against the Tigers.  The rain delay before the Friday game, and the unexpected cold for both the Friday and Sunday games.  I recall getting off the green line from Newton and more or less following the Citgo sign toward the ballpark.  My dad and I visited the famous red seat in right field, the landing spot for the longest homer hit at Fenway, by Ted Williams.  We sat by the Pesky Pole Friday night, and out by the bullpens on Sunday.

In the near future, I hope to venture to Fenway again.  This time I will have my wife and daughter with me.  I know I will be like a little kid when we get to the park, and I hope my wife understands my enthusiasm (I think she will) and that my daughter enjoys it as much as I do. 

A lot has changed in my life since I became a Red Sox fan in 1984 or 1985, but Fenway is still there.

Leave a Reply

