All you are is mean

I’m in no way, shape, or form a John Mayer fan. I have never listened to his songs nor purchased any of his albums, meaning, I have no opinion on the guy good or bad. I do, however, applaud him for standing up for himself in the most recent issue of Rolling Stone magazine.

I had heard that Taylor Swift had penned a song that is on her current album Speak Now titled Dear John. Undoubtedly, the song takes aim at John Mayer and their short-lived relationship. I have never heard the song before but I did look up the lyrics. I can see why he’d want to fight back when this is how people will perceive you “Or maybe it’s you and your sick need to give love then take it away.”

 Mayer states in the article that he was “really humiliated” and it “made me feel terrible,” and he goes on to say “I was really caught off-guard, and it really humiliated me at a time when I’d already been dressed down. I mean, how would you feel if, at the lowest you’ve ever been, someone kicked you even lower?” As for why I really applaud Mayer, he sums up exactly what I’ve been trying to point out about Swift all along! “I will say as a songwriter that I think it’s kind of cheap songwriting,” he says. “I know she’s the biggest thing in the world, and I’m not trying to sink anybody’s ship, but I think it’s abusing your talent to rub your hands together and go, ‘Wait till he gets a load of this!’ That’s bullshit.”

 Thank you! Finally, someone else sees it! She’s continually praised and applauded for writing songs tearing into real people who have real feelings. She also wrote a song to Joe Jonas back in 2008 tearing into him. He apparently broke up with her in a 27 second phone call. Okay? How long is a break up phone call supposed to last? I’m sorry if the guy dumped you, but cry it out over a pint of rocky road and move on. Being famous isn’t about getting revenge and singing to the world about how people have “wronged” you. It’s about using your platform to help others. Sure, there are songs about break ups and being cheated on and done wrong, but they are generalized songs not directly calling people out. I cannot understand how people continue to condone this type of behavior. She writes a song titled Mean and sings “Someday I’ll be living in a big old city, And all you’re ever gonna be is mean. Someday I’ll be big enough so you can’t hit me, And all you’re ever gonna be is mean.” Well, Ms. Swift, I think the only mean one here is you. I would never allow my daughter to listen to this type of music nor would I allow her to think it was okay to treat others that way.

So, kudos to you John Mayer for standing up for yourself and telling people that it’s not okay for someone to publicly humiliate you.

Leave a Reply

