The Sanctity Of Life?

After the post from yesterday, wondering about the direction and climate of our political environment, one of the comments mentioned the hypocrisy by which so many live by.  We all do to some extent, but the level is what I am concerned with.  And it got me to thinking, and in my thinking, I recalled what a former co-worker of mine mentioned to me about the death penalty, and the cost of having the death penalty.

Then I started replaying a lot of the political arguments that are made, and generally speaking, Republicans/conservatives are more in favor of the death penalty than Democrats/liberals.  I find that very interesting.

First, there is the cost, and Republicans are almost always shouting from the mountaintops these days about government spending.  I did some research, and will share some of what I found (you can read more here).  In federal cases, the average cost of a death penalty case is $620,932, which is about eight times higher than a non-death penalty case.  In Florida, the estimated cost savings by eliminating the death penalty and having the maximum sentence be life without parole would be about $51 million per year.  Also in Florida, from 1973-1988, there were 18 executions performed, at an average cost of $3.2 million per execution.  In California, an inmate on death row costs their government approximately $90,000 more per year than an inmate that is not on death row.  The beat goes on, and you can see for yourself by clicking the link earlier in this paragraph.

Death penalty appeals drag on for years, and who foots the bill for each appeal?  That would be the taxpayer.

Now comes the hypocrisy of the death penalty, and who is generally a proponent of it, and who is not.  (This is not meant to start a debate about women’s rights or contraception, just to illustrate conflicting views on life.) Republicans are all for the death penalty, but are against a woman’s right to have an abortion.  The life of an unborn child is more important than the life of an already born person.  Granted, the already born person that has made it to death row is not exactly a pillar of society, but they are alive.  How do people rectfiy such polar opposite views?  It is rare that I have come across a conservative who is against both abortion and the death penalty, but they are out there, and I applaud them for their consistency.

I do not mean to infer that I believe that Democrats have it right, either, but they are not abridging anybody’s rights.  Personally, I am not a fan of abortion (it has become a way for people to practice an unsavory lifestyle without being responsible for their actions), but I also do not believe in taking away rights from women* (see below).  To impose a Biblical, Christian law on women is not in line with our country’s principles (Google “Thomas Jefferson separation of church and state” for more); no matter what I believe from a religious perspective, I acknowledge that there are plenty who do not share my beliefs and those who do not practice any religion.  I am also against the death penalty, mainly for the costs associated with it, and also for the fact that two wrongs do not make a right, and taking the life of a killer will not bring back their victims.  So to clarify, I am not pro-abortion, but I am pro-women’s rights, and I am also against the death penalty.

*Why I am against outlawing abortion?  I’ll give you one example to consider:  there is a husband and wife, and they have been informed by the wife’s doctor that she cannot carry or deliver a child without a very strong chance of losing her life in the process.  The wife is sexually assaulted, and her attacker impregnates her.  She carries the baby to term because she has no other remedy, and in the process of delivering the child, she loses her life.  Her husband is now a widower, with a child that is not his (though he could give the baby up for adoption).  Because of some animal, his life has been turned upside down, and he is now forced to bury his wife. If the wife had been able to terminate the pregnancy caused by her attacker, she would be alive today and her husband would have her by his side.  That does not seem like a fair deal to me.  Maybe that is a tough example, and I know it is one that is unlikely to change any minds, but I know that if my wife were sexually assaulted, I would not want her to carry the child of her attacker, regardless of the risk to her life (and no, the example I used is not my family at all).

2 Responses to The Sanctity Of Life?

  1. Pingback: It’s Called Accountability… « Our Not So Expert Opinions

  2. Pingback: Hypocritical Much? « Our Not So Expert Opinions

Leave a Reply

