I’m a paradox.

This morning, as is typical with most days, my office has become a place for people to come and vent their issues. I considered putting a sign on the door stating there would now be a fee for venting. After thinking I could have been a therapist and made more money, I really started wondering about my personality and why I make people feel as though they can spill their guts to me. 

I have never been one to read my horoscope or chart my celestial planets or whatever you may call it. However, I am curious about astrological signs and personalities. I know my astrological sign and have read things about it here and there but never gave much thought beyond that. I’m more religious than celestial but I do think the signs are intriguing and have some truth in them. I believe they can work together with religion just as I believe science and religion can work together. That must be the Aquarius in me.

Quite a bit lately I find myself wondering if I’m overly nice to those close to me causing them to turn away or be so cold to those I’m not quite as close to causing them to think I don’t like them or am a stuck up snob.  I promise if I come across cold and unfriendly, I’m not doing so on purpose!

Here’s what I’ve learned about me and what being an Aquarius means to me…

I am very observant and can gather my information objectively because emotions do not get in the way, and seem to be above emotions altogether and when I speak, I speak the truth. Sometimes it may be shocking or painful because of my disregard for the feelings of others, but I intend no harm, and call it like I see it. Sometimes I wonder if there is something in life that I’m missing because I don’t feel like other people feel. I always wonder ‘why?’ so much that I even question my existence. Re-reading my previous posts, I am always questioning things. I tried not to do that with this post and even deleted a few times when I noticed I did. Interesting!

 Aquarius is the sign of visionaries, unconventionality and intellectual independence. I am the person who deviates from the crowd and goes my own way. That’s true, I don’t follow trends and only wear what I think looks good on me. It seems I am always after intellectual stimulation, constantly discovering something new, forming new opinions and stubbornly traveling my way regardless of what other people think. I am filled with paradoxes and am interested in the opposite ends of the spectrum, meaning, I like to be alone yet am a social butterfly. Weird, but mostly true. I like to experience both sides and see both opinions. Aquarius people tend to have a ‘live and let live’ policy where everyone is free to be themselves, an Aquarius never judges others because as human beings, we are all equal and entitled to our own opinions. That explains a lot of my blog posts! I am seen as verbally skilled (though I don’t think so) and observe others to see how they interact. I am definitely an observer. I can deal with any type of personality and adapt to any situation. I welcome change because boredom is my enemy. Apparently, I can act as an expert on any topic and am very good at inflating my own importance and feel it is deserved because my eccentricity makes me unique. I’m not too sure on the expert part but the rest is true, ha! I am known to pick at anyone I find weak or dull-minded. It is simply an easy target for verbal exercise, no harm is meant but it might be taken from the other person. Deep inside, an Aquarius would never intentionally hurt anyone; they have respect for every human, even though this might not seem apparent to the more emotional types. Woah!

Is your astrological sign anything like your personality? I’m curious to know your honest opinion about yourself, not just a sugar coated version of who you think you are. If you know me personally and want an honest opinion about yourself, apparently I’m the right person to ask! =)

One Response to I’m a paradox.

  1. TommyK says:

    Let’s see, I am an Aries: fearless warrior and undisciplined child? Check and check. Action person, extrovertd? Guilty as charged. In charge, confident, bold, spontaneous, and independent? Yes, yes, yes, no, and yes. In touch with my inner child? Yep. Competitive with a strong sense of fair play? Nailed it. Uncomplicated, impulsive? Yep. Selfish, insensitive, domineering? I tend to think not, but could be wrong. Outspoken and impatient? Yes, I have gotten myself into trouble more than once because of these. Ambitious and hardworking? Absolutely. In relationships, am I controlling and confrontational? No and sometimes, but only because I like to resolve issues sooner rather than later.

    I am who I am. I speak my mind, and I really do not care if my opinion is not yours. I am principled, and will error on the side of doing what is right for others over myself. I can be hard-headed on occasion. I can also be sarcastic and quick-witted. I am loyal to the people that are closest to me, and sort of adhere to the “Circle of Trust” way of handling relationships (from Meet The Parents), and once you are out, I am pretty much done with you. I try to be a people-pleaser, sometimes to the point of being taken advantage of; and while it drives me crazy and I will bitch about it, that is just who I am. I will not apologize for who I am or what I am, and if people don’t like it, that is their problem. I have very little tolerace for repeated stupidity, and would not be upset if we removed the warning labels on everything and let nature run its course.

    Politically, I know where I stand, and I am not ashamed of it. My beliefs and opinions are based off of research I have done and from real-life experiences; I do not just spout out somebody else’s thoughts and call them my own and cannot back them up.

    I can be a little quick to react sometimes, and have a tad of a foul mouth on occasion. That’s just me.

Leave a Reply

