It’s Called Accountability…

…and politicians should try it sometime.  It’s what most of us in the real world have to do on a regular basis.  It seems like as soon as someone gets elected, all accountability is lost, and everything can be explained away as “misspeaking” or “gotcha journalism” or some other ridiculous excuse.

Take, for example, Congressman Todd Akin, who is running for Senate in Missouri:

“It seems to me first of all, from what I understand from doctors, that’s really rare. If it’s a legitimate rape, the female body has ways to try to shut that whole thing down.”

He said exactly what he meant, and exactly what he felt.  And what he said is pretty much in line with the Republican platform and conservative agenda.  No abortion, under any circumstances.  This, from the party that thinks the death penalty is a good thing.  They have a warped sense of the sanctity of life.  And he wasn’t done with just that one comment.  He continued:

“…punishment for the rape should focus on the rapist and not attacking the child.”

So, he apparently feels like women should not only have to endure the trauma of being raped and possibly becoming pregnant at the hands of their attacker, but also carry the baby to term.  Seems like more punishment for the victim.  Under Mr. Akin’s warped sense of punishment, would the rapist then be required to pay child support?

I really do not understand Mr. Akin’s position, or his comments.  He seems to me to be a very close-minded person, and the people of Missouri will be telling the country a lot about their values if they were to elect him to the U.S. Senate in November.  No matter where you stand on abortion, Mr. Akin was out of line.  If you lean toward agreeing with his comments wholeheartedly, I feel somewhat sorry for you.  No, this is not a diatribe against anti-abortion people, just a comment on one politician’s statement.  I know some people will agree with him, and call it a Biblical matter, and I will not begrudge anybody their religious point-of-view; my sincere hope is that even the most ardent supporter of life as defined by the Bible find Akin’s views abhorrent.  If you read the entry I linked above, and here, you will understand where I stand on the issue.  I know people will not agree with me, but I stand behind my view on the matter; my view is my view, and it is shaped from my life experiences, in addition to experiences of those close to me.  I do not take someone else’s views and spout them verbatim as mine.

Anymore, a politician can say almost anything they want and just come out later and basically say “my bad, I was misunderstood or misspoke.”  And people just accept that garbage.  We have to hold them accountable.  If Congress is a representation of our population, I am happy today that I do not live in Congressman Akin’s district.

**Afternoon edit (I usually don’t do these, but I could not resist)**

Akin had me in stitches with a comment he made today regarding what he said yesterday.  This time, it was in reference to him not dropping out of the Senate race:

“I feel just as strongly as ever that my background and ability will be a big asset in replacing Claire McCaskill and putting some sanity back in what’s going on in our government.” (Bolding mine)

Really, this guy is going to put some sanity back into our government?  Sanity left him a long time ago, and seems to have no intention on returning anytime soon.

 

4 Responses to It’s Called Accountability…

  1. Pingback: Interesting « Our Not So Expert Opinions

  2. Pingback: Know The Difference « Our Not So Expert Opinions

  3. Pingback: And The Winner Is… « Our Not So Expert Opinions

  4. Pingback: Loud and Clear « Our Not So Expert Opinions

Leave a Reply

