How much is too much?

The other day, Tuesday to be exact, I decided to put down my Facebook for awhile. I didn’t delete it because I do think the idea of it is a good one, I just realized that Facebook makes you become lazy. Who needs to keep in touch anymore, Facebook does it for me. Yes, it’s great to reconnect with old friends and family who may be far away, but do we really connect or just snoop? It has allowed me to show Kaitlyn growing up to people who might normally not get to see it, but at the same time allowing them into her life, possibly so much so that everyone believes that they are entitled to educate us on her. Rightfully so, because I’ve put it out there for all those friends to see, like, and comment on.

Instead of trying to carve out time to spend with those we miss, we simply make up excuses as to why we just cannot come see you and say oh I’ll just watch the video of it that you post on Facebook, or take lots of pictures so you can put them on Facebook so I don’t feel as though I’m missing out on this or that event. From now on, if you want to know what’s going on in my life or what Kaitlyn may be doing, call me or come visit me. If you want a picture, I’ll be happy to mail you one, snail mail style. If you don’t, oh well.

I’ve also realized I spent way too many hours of the day engrossed in the lives of everyone else on there. I certainly don’t check it to see updates on myself so I must look at it so often to see what everyone else is doing. Why? What makes everyone else’s life on Facebook so much more important than what’s right in front of me? My down time could be so much better spent. I haven’t really neglected family time but I have neglected my hobbies.

So, instead of living in the world of Facebook, I’m going to try living in the world again. I will continue to post links to Tommy’s other blog but that will be the extent for the time being. I heard One Foot by Building 429 on the way into work the other morning and thought it fitting for this new beginning.

“Cause I won’t be the man to watch the world pass him by 

 I don’t really know where this road is going 

I don’t really know why this door is open 

Put one foot in front of the other 

that’s how I’m gonna discover 

who you really are when the world is ending   

how you raise the dead to new beginnings 

put one foot in front of the other”  –Building 429

One Response to How much is too much?

  1. TommyK says:

    I too am going to try the Facebook hiatus. It does automatically share my entries from the other blog, but I am going to stop “living” through Facebook for a while. It is a good place to catch up with people, but at some point, actual human interaction ceases, and that is not a good thing.

Leave a Reply

