Interesting

Pundits and experts all across the country will parse Mitt Romney’s speech from last night.  Conservative commentators will say it was a “home run,” and “the best speech ever,” while liberal/progressive commentators will decry the speech as “missing the mark,” or “off base.”  I will go ahead and leave that to them.  Like any speech at either convention, Mitt Romney’s speech was a pep rally to fire up the base, nothing more, nothing less.  He wasn’t going to show his hand and outline his policy objectives should he be elected President.  Doing do is not a winning strategy.  President Obama’s speech at the DNC will be similar in nature.

There was at least one part of the speech last night that I found very interesting.  (And I will admit that I did not watch a single second of it.  I have seen clips today and read most of the transcript.)

During his speech, Romney spoke emotionally about his parents, and referenced his mother’s run for Senate.  Here is what he said:

“I can still hear her saying in her beautiful voice, ‘Why should women have any less say than men, about the great decisions facing our nation?'”

Why did I find this so interesting, you may be wondering?  I find this interesting because here was Mitt Romney praising his mother for women wanting an equal say in the affairs of our great nation, while he (Mitt) is all about taking away rights from women.  He is all about taking away a woman’s right to have a say about their reproductive rights, yet will boastfully quote his mother and her belief that women should have an equal say about national decisions.  I will not proclaim to know Mr. Romney’s mother’s stance on women’s rights, but this reference does confuse me.

Taken at face value, and assuming his mother shared his views on abortion and women’s rights, I am led to conclude that women are to be trusted when making a decision about running a state, or approving a federal budget, or voting on a war resolution, but not so much when it comes to their own bodies.  It is blatant hypocrisy.  If women cannot be trusted to make decisons about their own bodies, how can he believe that women can be trusted to make decisions that affect the whole country?  I for one believe that women do a fine job when left to manage their own bodies and making their own decisions, and also have a fine track record of making tough decisions for our country.

To be clear, as if I have not been crystal clear on more than one occasion on this blog (like this entry), I am very much pro-choice and I will stand behind my view.  And while I am pro-choice, I am also anti-abortion, at least in most cases.  You see, being pro-choice does not automatically make me pro-abortion whereas being anti-abortion pretty much points to being anti-choice.  Unlike Congressman Akin, I do not believe that a woman’s body can “shut down” when being sexually assaulted and pregnancy can occur; in such cases, there is just cause for allowing a woman to have a right to choose…pro-choice.  On the other side of that debate, there is a segment that believes that she should just “tough it out” and have the baby of her attacker…anti-choice.

I would like to see how Mitt Romney connects his belief that his mother was equipped to make big decisions for our country, but ill-prepared to make decisions about her own body.

 

Leave a Reply

