Nowhere To Hide

This morning, as I was leaving for work, I had to get out of the car for a minute to double-check on something in the garage.  No big deal, and everything was in its proper place.  As I was walking back to the car, I heard some rustling over by our front door, near the porch.  I figured it was the work of a few squirrels, up early to chase each other around on the roof and in the trees.

I was wrong.  I looked over and saw no squirrels.  Instead, I saw an armadillo lumbering toward the middle of our yard.  He was walking around the yard like he owned the place, not a care in the world.

He wanted nothing to do with me, and I wanted nothing to do with him, but I did go ahead and close the garage so that Amber would not get any potential surprises when she left.

I know very little about the armadillo, except that they are generally not too aggressive unless there are babies around.  I also know that I do not want an armadillo foraging around in my yard at all.  So I did what most people would do, and I did a little research on how to get rid of one.  One of the first sights I looked at offered advice ranging from trapping to using moth balls to repel them; it was good advice, I guess, but as I reached the bottom of the article, I noticed there was a comments section.  And those always catch my eye.  I was not disappointed with what I read (or maybe I was, given the direction of the comments).  It turns out, politics are involved everywhere, even in the removal of an armadillo (check out the comments section of this article).  If you prefer not to read the article, scroll to the comments, specifically the fifth one down.  Here is how it begins:

Animals do not have rights according to the constitution. If they do, they can pay taxes with the rest of us. Funny how the same people that rush to defend a mother’s right to kill her baby also rush to defend the (non)rights of disease carrying rabid animals.

Are you serious?  Are people that intent on having their views known about everything that they are now invading comment sections for animal removal?  I know what you might be thinking, “why does that matter to you (me) at all?”  It really does not matter in the sense that it will ruin my day, I just find it sad that people just have to inject politics in everything.  I mean, seriously, an armadillo can “pay taxes” if they are to have rights?  Dogs do not have rights according to the Constitution, but people cannot torture them without consequences (and rightly so).  And last I checked, Rover is not paying any taxes.  People are entitled to their own opinion on everything, but there really is no place, in my opinion, for politics in animal removal, at least not in the manner the commenter above injected them into the discussion.  Maybe that commenter strongly feels that armadillos, dogs, cats, and pet birds should pay taxes; that would make them truly a sad person.

Leave a Reply

