Come On Already

Not to be the “grammar police,” but I think that some people need to go ahead an enroll themselves in a remedial grammar class.  Maybe one taught by one of my high school teachers, Mrs. Thompson.  Simply put, she would not tolerate idiotic, repeated grammatical errors.

Ten days ago, I wrote about how so many of the commentors on news articles are poor in their use of proper grammar.  It’s like they try to use fancy words that they do not know, and clearly do not know how to use them, all in an effort to appear intelligent or articulate.

Today, I am at the point where I just want to scream.  And I want to scream over what should be something that is common knowledge, at least to anyone that has even the slightest working knowledge of our language.

I’m talking about the proper use of three similar, but very different words:  their, there, and they’re.  It’s getting to the point where, when I read a comment from somebody and they cannot even seem to use these words correctly, I am not even surprised anymore; it is more of a shocker when somebody actually uses them correctly.

It’s really not that difficult (please note, the uses I am listing are not, most likely, exactly as you would find them in the dictionary; I have tried to simplify them the best I can):

Their:  used when describing something or somewhere that is possessed by a person or persons.  For example, “we are going to their house for dinner.”  We are not going to “there” or “they’re” house.
There:  used when indicating location.  For example, “put the books on that bookcase over there.”  You would not put books over “their” or “they’re.”
They’re:  is a contraction, and is used when combining the words “they” and “are.”  For example, “they’re going to the football game Saturday night.”  “Their” or “there” are not going to the game.

I’ve written it before, but I will go ahead and put it out there again.  You basically nullify everything you are saying, and give up any advantage you have or point you were trying to make, when you cannot even use proper grammar.  Maybe these errors are meaningless to you, but their (you see what I did there, I used the proper terms twice) use and acceptance is contributing to the lower intelligence of our nation’s children (ok, so not these errors alone, but they sure contribute).

Maybe I am being trite and picky, but I really cannot stand continued grammatical errors (Mrs. Thompson would be so proud).  And don’t get me started on “to” and “too.”

 

3 Responses to Come On Already

  1. ryan85 says:

    When I find someone terribly upset about grammar abuse I pat their shoulder and comfort them saying, “Their, there, they’re.” You might enjoy the syntax abuse links I have at http://www.discoveringwriting.wordpress.com

  2. Pingback: Kidding, I Hope « Our Not So Expert Opinions

Leave a Reply

