What If?

My friend Ryan wrote on one of his blogs yesterday a post with his view on abortion, and the science of pregnancy.  It was well-written with a scientific timeline of pregnancy from implantation of the sperm in the egg forward.  The purpose of his entry, at least from what I learned from it, was to show his displeasure regarding the responses of Joe Biden and Paul Ryan at last week’s VP debate, to offer his view, and to offer the science; I think he was successful at doing all three.  I very much respect Ryan as a writer and as a friend, and I know his view on abortion differs from mine, but I respect his view.

I guess maybe the point of this entry is to share with people who do not read his entries the comment I posted (or at least I think I posted it, as long as the computer gremlins did not catch it first).  Basically, my comment was as follows:

What about in the case of rape, incest, or health of the mother?

To me, that is a question, or series of circumstances, that should be addressed and reconciled by people on both sides of the issue.  In no way do I believe that abortion should be the answer for making an irresponsible choice, but there is, in my opinion, a place for the procedure in our society.  It is not a pretty procedure, let’s not fool anybody here.  But it is also not pretty to ask a woman to carry the child of her assailant to term, to care for her body and the child for 9 months.  It is not right to ask a little girl who was raped by her father, uncle, or brother to carry the child to term.  It is not fair to sacrifice the life of a mother in order to successfully bring a child into the world.

I provided an example in my comment as well:

If my wife were to be raped and become pregnant, would we as a family be reasonably expected to ensure that she takes care of herself and the child during the term?  What if, during the term or delivery, my wife died and the child lived?  Then what?  I am a widower and a single parent to the daughter we had together.

I cannot wrap my mind around that concept.  Losing my wife, my daughter losing her mother, all to protect the child of a rapist.  That is wrong on so many levels to me.  To carry it further, how could I possibly live with having to tell my daughter that she no longer has her mother to bond with because she did not have the choice to save her own life?  But at least my daughter would have a step-sibling who was the spawn of a rapist/animal.  I guess there is that.

To me, the issue of abortion is not cut-and-dry, black or white.  There is a lot of gray area.  No amount of science will convince me that a woman who is raped should not have the choice to carry that child to term or not.  If we, as a country, start down the path of restricting the rights of any of our citizens, where does that path end?  It is a slippery slope, and I don’t think anybody can say with certainty that there would be plenty of unintended consequences.  Restrict who can vote?  Restrict our free speech?  Establish a national religion and ostracize those who choose not to practice any religion?

I would love to know your thoughts on the issue.  If you choose to comment, please keep the comments civil and refrain from personal attacks (yeah, I can do that, it is my blog after all, and any debates on here will be respectful and civil).

4 Responses to What If?

  1. As a woman, I do not think it up to any MAN to make the decision for me. That decision should be between me and God. No man or law should say otherwise. It is a personal choice to follow the Bible. We should not have laws based solely on someone’s faith or interpretation of the Bible. There is seperation of church and state for a reason. This country was founded on religious freedom, whether it be Catholic, Baptist, Morman, agnostic, or atheist. As a christian person, you can only live by example. Too many christians go by the motto of “do as I say, not as I do.” People should worry more about themselves getting into heaven rather than judging and condeming everyone else. I do not believe that I won’t make it into heaven simply because I am pro-choice nor do I believe someone will make it into heaven simply because they are pro-life. It is up to us as individuals to make the decisions for ourselves and then take responsibility for our choices when we meet Him at the gate. If I were to make the decision to have an abortion because of rape or incest then it would be on me to take responsibilty for that when it came my time. I do not for one second believe that God would condem me for having that abortion and to think otherwise would lead me to believe He is not the loving and forgiving Father I believe Him to be.

  2. TommyK says:

    And therein lies a reason to leave it as a woman’s choice: we are not suited or capable of judging another. The decision to have an abortion is one that weighs heavily on so many women who make that choice, and no human, especially a male, is qualified to be the judge. That choice, if made, is between that woman and God.
    Because we do have separation of church and state, establishing a law that outlaws such a procedure because followers of Christ say it is against the Bible forces religion on those who choose, for whatever reason, to not practice religion or have faith in God. And that is wholly un-American. No person should have their rights abridged, plain and simple.

  3. Pingback: Know The Difference « Our Not So Expert Opinions

  4. Pingback: They Have Rights? « Our Not So Expert Opinions

Leave a Reply

