Debatable

While the flash polls after last week’s Vice Presidential Debate seemed to be all over the map with who won, both the CBS and CNN polls last night showed that President Obama won last night’s debate by around 7% or so.

I, too, think that President Obama had the edge over Mitt Romney last night.  He seemed to be engaged, which was in stark contrast to their last debate.  President Obama seemed ready to call Romney on things he felt were not true (funny proposal I saw on Twitter last night: $10 toward the national debt anytime either man said “not true” would bring us to zero before the moderator gained control of the debate).

To me, the exchange of the night occurred when Mitt Romney was fact-checked on live TV by the moderator in regards to the attack on the consulate in Libya.  He tried to claim that it took 14 days for Obama to call it an “act of terror,” but even the moderator acknowledged that it was called that the next morning in the Rose Garden.  For an issue that is one where Romney should have had the upper-hand, he botched it, and the President handled that particular question very well.  Here is what he said when challenged by Romney:

“The day after the attack, governor, I stood in the Rose Garden and I told the American people in the world that we are going to find out exactly what happened. That this was an act of terror and I also said that we’re going to hunt down those who committed this crime.

And then a few days later, I was there greeting the caskets coming into Andrews Air Force Base and grieving with the families.

“And the suggestion that anybody in my team, whether the Secretary of State, our U.N. Ambassador, anybody on my team would play politics or mislead when we’ve lost four of our own, governor, is offensive. That’s not what we do. That’s not what I do as president, that’s not what I do as Commander in Chief.”

I have also yet to see anybody point out that Mitt Romney seemed to be quite the bully last night.  He was more than happy to interrupt the moderator and the President, and tried to act as the moderator himself.  Now, President Obama also did his share of talking over the moderator, but he seemed to fall in line when she attempted to gain control.  The way Romney treated the President was disgraceful; but before I am accused to being biased toward Obama because I am a Democrat, let me say that no matter who the President is, he or  she deserves to be treated with a certain level of decorum.  I guess maybe Romney was just being like most others in his party have been over the last 4 years or so, and felt that Obama was not worthy of any respect at all.  I’m sorry, but such behavior from someone who seeks the Oval Office is unacceptable, regardless of party.  Disagree with the President all you want, but show some respect.  I disagreed plenty with President Bush, but given the opportunity to talk with him during his time in office, I would have been respectful in the way that I spoke to him.

What are your thoughts about last night’s debate?

Leave a Reply

