At It Again

I think that there may seriously be something wrong with some of our public figures.  There was Todd Akin back in August with his “forcible rape” remark.  Twice in the past few weeks, Ann Coulter has shown her true, insensitive colors in using inflammatory speech to describe people (here, here).  And now we have Indiana Senate candidate Richard Mourdock.  He opened his mouth, and out came more stupidity, this time along the lines of Akin.

In lieu of the appearance that I am parsing his words to make a point, check out what he said regarding pregnancies caused by rape (full article here):

“I struggled with it myself for a long time, but I came to realize that life is that gift from God. And, I think, even when life begins in that horrible situation of rape, that it is something that God intended to happen.”

Come again?  A rape is something that God intended to happen?  Wow.  That is quite the claim there.  No amount of walking that comment back will make it to where it was not said.  You cannot un-ring a bell Mr. Mourdock.

To me, his view is wrong on so many levels.  Is he really claiming that God would “gift” a woman in having her be raped?  I bet rape victims would rather have not received such a “gift” in the first place.  And Mr. Mourdock advocates for the “gift” to keep on giving and for the rape victim to have the child that the rapist “gifted” her with.  I have made it clear in the past where I stand on this particular question, so I am not going to write it again, but you can click here if you want to know more.

What I am growing tired of, or what has already worn me out, is the belief that people can say whatever they want, regardless of who it hurts, and then be allowed to “take back” or explain what they “really meant” when people express outrage.  Here is the deal:  you say what you mean, and you mean what you say.  I have been burned in the past by saying what I really mean, but that is not going to change the fact that I will continue to do so.  I have made myself look like an idiot, but I continue to own my views and stand by them, and own my words and stand by them.  On more than one occasion, someone has suggested that I run for office, and I have to admit that it is an interesting proposition.  Then I realize that I won’t get many votes because I don’t run and hide behind garbled answers.  You ask, I answer.  That’s about as deep as I go; I have no filter.  Our political system weeds out people like that and keeps those who pander the best.

Akin, Coulter, Mourdock.  Birds of a feather flock together, and these three are dodo birds.

8 Responses to At It Again

  1. Pingback: Ann Coulter Is At It Again « Our Not So Expert Opinions

  2. Pingback: I Give Up « Our Not So Expert Opinions

  3. thinkovation says:

    You’ve misunderstood the sentence.

    The “thing” that God intended to happens was “Life”.

    He’s saying that even when a life is created in that horrible situation of rape, it is still sacred.

    • TommyK says:

      I in no way misunderstood the sentence. Just as, in your opinion, the sentence meant one thing, my opinion is that it read the way I interpreted it. That is the cool thing about opinions. And I get a little tired of people being righteous and telling me that I misunderstood this or that, or that I made the wrong conclusion. Why can’t you, or people like you, accept that people have a different opinion than you? Please stop trying to make it to where everyone who differs in opinion from you is wrong. Do you speak for God in this case? I do not think so. Please do not cite a Bible verse or ten here, either. The Bible was written by men, and there have been selective omissions along the way. Is is truly God’s full word, or has stuff been left out for convenience along the way?
      There is no justification, in my mind, to force a woman who is raped to carry a baby to term. She should have the choice, and if she chooses to do so, that is up to her and her alone.

  4. Pingback: Nicely Said « Our Not So Expert Opinions

  5. Pingback: Much To My Surprise « Our Not So Expert Opinions

  6. Pingback: And The Winner Is… « Our Not So Expert Opinions

  7. Pingback: Loud and Clear « Our Not So Expert Opinions

Leave a Reply

