Gender Gap

Statistics show that since women have been given the right to vote that they tend to lean more Democratic and also more toward the incumbent. When the incumbent is a Republican, the Gender Gap becomes narrower. When the incumbent is a Democrat, coupled with more female democrats, the Gender Gap is much broader. This is not to say every woman votes this way, it’s just the trend. I do my research and even felt bad yesterday that I did not make an informed choice on the water commissioners because I missed that portion on my sample ballot, meaning I did not do any research on the candidates.
Women’s rights were a dominating force in this election. One thing is for certain, women made their voices heard. I will not speak for all women because we do not all think and vote the same way. Trends show more women lean democratic than republican but plenty of women are conservatives, I know quite a few.
Clearly last night indicated that choice, equal pay, and healthcare were not something women were going to back down on. Florida voted down an abortion law while Richard Mourdock and Todd Aiken, both outspoken against abortion, lost in their respective races. Looks like most women believe they can make their own choices when it comes to their bodies.
President Obama’s first bill signed into law was the Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act. Governor Romney refused to say whether or not he supported this bill. Excuse me for wanting equal pay for equal work. I wasn’t aware that was such a tough decision to make. Why this is still an issue is beyond me but I suppose suppressing women inflates some egos. To each their own, it’s your view and you should own it.
I support healthcare. Obama eliminated the lifetime cap on treatment. We are not on Medicare or Medicaid of any type. The money for my family’s healthcare comes out of my paycheck every month so forgive me for enjoying one less medical bill I pay out of pocket. I support Planned Parenthood. It’s my view. I’m going to let you in on a little secret. I take contraceptives. Not many people know but I apparently need to be blunt about the fact that I had a life threatening birth so forgive me if I don’t want to experience that again. It doesn’t mean I’ll rush out to get an abortion, but that I have a choice if my life depends on it. If God intended for all of us to have children he would have created us to that way. Yes, children are his miracles but I don’t believe that means all women were intended to experience it, whether it is once or multiple times. The fact of the matter is that the Bible was written by men. It is their account of what their experiences were with our Lord. Like anything written by humans, it is flawed. I consider myself a Christian woman of Faith but I am also a realist. Realizing the Bible has been through years and years of translations and versions, I believe it is a guide, not fact. So, while I believe it is the right path for some to “be fruitful and multiply,” I do not believe it everyone’s path.
Statistics are showing that women are still making it very clear that they want equal rights and are not okay with sitting in a binder on a shelf. This isn’t about gender roles, it’s about equality. The Gender Gap speaks volumes.

One Response to Gender Gap

  1. TommyK says:

    What bothers me is that people want to continually question your view and try to strong-arm you into theirs, and that made you feel the need to disclose what is very personal to us. I hope your critics, and my critics feel better about themselves for knowing that now, but I venture a guess that you will be judged even more now. I am a little upset that you felt forced to disclose that information on here because of people who feel they are better than you; not upset at you, upset at everyone else. I know that you can only take being continually attacked for so long before you respond. Who knows, maybe the disclosure of such a personal event will help people tone it down toward you, or maybe you will hear that we should let “God’s will” run its course. I for one am happy to take one less risk with your life so that you can continue to be the amazing wife and mother that you are. You taking the pill does not make you less of a woman, wife, or mother, and I am proud that you are my wife and our daughter’s mother.

Leave a Reply

