Extreme

I just don’t get what drives people to be so extreme about things.  I am passionate about a lot of different things, but I don’t know that I would be considered extreme in any area (I guess I should have asked around first.  I bet the prevailing opinion is that I am extreme about some things).

I do not know of any single item that I need bad enough to camp out for a week or more.  I saw on Today this morning that someone has been camping out since last Monday (that’s right, a week ago today) for Black Friday deals.  At other Best Buy stores, people have been camped out since this past weekend (article).  Wal-Mart is running guarantees on certain products if you are in the store between 10 and 11 Thanksgiving night.  Some stores, Wal-Mart, Sears, and Target to name a few, are opening Thanksgiving night, anywhere from 8pm to 9pm, and will remain open through their scheduled close Friday.

I don’t know about you and what your Thanksgiving plans are, but mine do not include shopping.  I am running in our local Turkey Trot, going to enjoy brunch (a first for me) with some friends, then heading home to cook and watch some football.  Shopping is not on the agenda anywhere.

When I was younger, a lot younger, I would get up early on the Friday after Thanksgiving and go shopping with my aunt.  We didn’t go out looking for great deals, it was more just to hang out and people watch.  If we found something worth buying, we bought it; if we came home empty-handed, that was fine, too.

To me, Thanksgiving is about family.  Spending time with family and just enjoying the day.  Family, and close friends who may as well be family (we may even disagree like family sometimes).

Maybe I am the one with my priorities out of whack.  Maybe I should one of the ones waiting in line for that great deal.  I mean, family time can wait if I can save 10% on that one item I just have to have (although I cannot think of what that item is at the moment).  I guess my lack of dedication to the cause of saving a few dollars will end up costing me in the long run.  But I doubt it.  Prices will drop as Christmas gets closer, and I am fine with waiting for a little bit.  Black Friday is not my thing, in large part because I do not do well in large crowds of people who have lost all common sense (if you don’t believe me on that part, watch the news Friday night to see how many stampedes and fights there were).

 

2 Responses to Extreme

  1. mwalbridge says:

    Black Friday isn’t my thing… and pushing the times back into Thanksgiving is crazy! Societal uproar approaching.

  2. Pingback: Nobody Asked… « Our Not So Expert Opinions

Leave a Reply

