Hypocriticial Much? Part Two

A little bit before Election Day, I shared the hypocrisy of Mike Huckabee, which can be found here.  Today brings a new day and new hypocrisy.  And my honest intent before reading this article on CNN.com was to steer clear of this topic altogether for a little bit, and I even fought with myself about writing about it today.

If you do not want to read the article I linked to above, I ask you to reconsider.  It offers context and the “more to the story” that the snippets I am about to share do not.  Although I am not adding anything to what is found in the article, I am deliberately leaving out parts that really have little to do with this particular issue, but may speak to the character of the subject of the article.

Where to begin?  I guess I will start at the beginning (that’s as good a place as any).  Tennessee Republican Scott DesJarlais is a self-described anti-abortion conservative.  According to the article, his campaign website says, “All life should be cherished and protected.  We are pro-life.”  If that were the end of the story, that would be great.  Representative DesJarlais would have been commended for his steadfast adherence to his belief.  Except, as Paul Harvey used to say, “and now, the rest of the story.”

It turns out, from transcripts of testimony from his divorce from his now ex-wife, she had gotten not one, but two abortions.  Representative DesJarlais offers explanations in his own words:

“She was on a experimental drug called Lupron and was not supposed to have gotten pregnant. There were potential risks. It was a therapeutic.  One was after she had gotten back from Desert Storm and things were not going well between us and it was a mutual decision.”

So because she was on an experimental drug and became pregnant when she was not supposed to, an abortion was ok?  Understood.  And the other was because she had just gotten back from Desert Storm and there were some marital problems, so that one was ok as well?  Understood again.

If you are not familiar with the drug Lupron, and I was not, it is used, in women, for treatment for endometriosis (when cells from the uterus grow in other areas of the body), including endometriotic lesions and also for iron therapy before fibroid surgery (the removal of benign fibroids in women).  Among the known side effects are birth defects, and it is advised that women who are pregnant or may become pregnant not take the drug.  Now, I am not going to claim that I know the pain either of those conditions cause, but I can imagine that it is pretty great.

Getting back to the article, however, it is striking to me how he and his then-wife came to a “mutual decision” about the abortions, meaning that she had a choice in the matter.

I do not mean to come across as judgemental when I am pointing out the hypocrisy here.  Maybe Representative DesJarlais had a change of stance from pro-choice to staunch pro-life sometime after the second procedure.  Good for him if he did.  To me, however, it is a hard leap to make when you go from taking advantage of having a choice in the matter, to wanting to restrict the right to have that choice in the first place.  I am not saying that he does not have the right to change his position, because he certainly does, it just appears to me that he would even want to outlaw the procedure, even if the same scenario he and his ex-wife had plays out for someone else.

I am sure that there are people out there who actually like abortion, but I am not one of them.  I am also not going to tell someone they cannot have one.  I like choice.

2 Responses to Hypocriticial Much? Part Two

  1. Pingback: Hypocritial Much? Part Three « Our Not So Expert Opinions

  2. Pingback: Hypocritical Much? Part Six « Our Not So Expert Opinions

Leave a Reply

