Awesome

You probably have an opinion about the United States Postal Service.  Maybe a joke or two about postal workers.  I know that I do.  Regardless of how you may feel about the Postal Service, or what misinformation you have (they are, in fact, controlled by Congress, but are not a government entity), there are good people who work there.

Take, for example, the story of a little girl named Meredith.  Meredith was upset when the family dog died recently, and her mom suggested she write a letter and send it to Heaven.  So she did.  Here is what she wrote:

Dear God,
Will you please take care of my dog? She died yesterday and is with you in heaven.  I miss her very much. I am happy that you let me have her as my dog even though she got sick.

I hope you will play with her. She likes to play with balls and to swim. I am sending a picture of her so when you see her, you will know that she is my dog. I really miss her.

Love, Meredith

The letter was placed in an envelope with a picture of her dog, and little Meredith pasted several stamps on it, because “it would take lots of stamps to get all the way to heaven.”  If this were the end of the story, it would be one thing, but it is not.

Several days later, a package arrived at the house addressed to Meredith, and it was wrapped in gold paper.  In it was a letter that read:

Dear Meredith,
Abbey arrived safely in heaven. Having the picture was a big help. I recognized Abbey right away.  Abbey isn’t sick anymore. Her spirit is here with me just like it stays in your heart. Abbey loved being your dog. Since we don’t need our bodies in heaven, I don’t have any pockets to keep your picture in, so I am sending it back to you in this little book for you to keep and have something to remember Abbey by.

Thank you for the beautiful letter and thank your mother for helping you write it and sending it to me. What a wonderful mother you have. I picked her especially for you.

I send my blessings every day and remember that I love you very much. By the way, I’m easy to find, I am wherever there is love.

Love,

God

I am generally in control of my emotions, and I rarely stray too far from right down the middle when it comes to almost everything.  I try to not get too high or sink too low.  When I read the story (linked above), I could not help to become a little emotional.  In a country that has been and remains extremely divided over so many things, and where people are quick to spew hatred at other people in an effort to cement their point, stories like this one are becoming rare.  I am sure there are good people out there who do amazing things for people all the time, but it sure was nice to read about it for once.  Whoever took the time and effort to write that reply to Meredith did so out of the goodness of their heart; they did not care where Meredith’s parents stood on taxes, abortion, or gay rights, and they did not care who they voted for either.  This person recognized that a little kid was hurting, and did what they thought was right in helping her start to heal.

I think we all sometimes need to take a step back and reorganize our priorities, myself included.  We should exercise our right to have an opinion and to be critical of people and to express our views without having to worry about fear of retribution.  But we should also remember that the person on the other side of the issue sometimes will need us on the other side to help them up when they are down.  We should be big enough to lend that hand.

 

Leave a Reply

