Rational Discussion

A well regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed.

Above is the 2nd Amendment to the Constitution of the United States of America.  Somewhere in those words, a lot of people read that Americans are free to be gun-toting citizens.  Whether or not our Founders meant for you or I to be able to legally own a gun is a debate and discussion for another time.  I was not around in the 1780s, and neither were you, so we should steer clear of judging what their “intent” was.

In the aftermath of yet another shooting rampage, this one claiming over 20 elementary school students in Connecticut, maybe it is time for people on both sides of the gun control/gun rights discussion to sit down and have a rational and adult debate.  Instead of just slinging insults, maybe it is time to think long and hard about how many massacres have to happen before the issue is addressed.  Until that happens, and steps are taken to make progress, these types of massacres are going to continue to happen, and that is sad.

Spare me your “guns don’t kill people” crap because I am not buying it.  No, a gun in and of itself will not kill anybody, but in the hands of a sick bastard like the one who killed people in Connecticut today, a gun will kill people.  Young people, old people, a gun and a bullet make no distinction.  You aim, pull the trigger, and the deed is done.

Spare me your claim that if a teacher would have been armed, they could have taken this idiot out.  That may or may not be true, but the same people who want to make that claim are the same ones who would be calling for that same teacher to go to jail if, while trying to stop this nut job, they accidentally shot a student.

Spare me your argument that this sick bastard could have done the same with a knife.  I doubt it.  Could he have wounded a bunch of kids like the idiot in China did today?  Of course he could have.  But I am willing to bet that there would have been someone at that school who would have been successful in stopping this fool long before so many children were dead.

I am a parent.  Every day, me or my wife drop our daughter off at school.  What happened today in Connecticut is our worst nightmare.  I want to be able to protect my daughter 24 hours a day, but I know that I cannot.  While I worry about her all day while she is at school, I also believe that I am dropping her off somewhere safe.  I am scared and angry after what happened in Connecticut today.  Scared because that could happen at my daughter’s school, and angry because some worthless piece of crap ended the lives of so many innocent children and school employees.

I wish I had an answer and a way to protect my daughter while she was at school.  Short of posting armed guards at each and every school, I, just like every other parent, have to have faith that our kids are safe.

What happened today is Connecticut is a tragedy.  It is senseless and it is terrible.

One Response to Rational Discussion

  1. Pingback: It’s All About Context « Our Not So Expert Opinions

Leave a Reply

