Show Some Restraint

Maybe it is just me (but I doubt it), but I am not one of those people who happily parts with their money on Valentine’s Day.  As a matter of fact, if I did not have a daughter who would be heartbroken to not get a Valentine’s Day card from her parents, Amber and I would spend exactly zero.

As for what I will get Amber, it will be a whole bunch of nothing, just like I have done for the last decade.

I am one of the fortunate few men who has a wife who thinks that the whole Valentine’s Day thing is just one big scam to line the pockets of florists, confectioners, and card companies, all with their overpriced items.  If you are in the crowd that will contribute to the $18.6 billion spent on Valentine’s Day this year, ask yourself why you feel the need to spend $75 for a dozen roses.  With a little bit of patience, you can get the same dozen roses the next day for 80% or so less.

It would be fantastic if I could find someone who can give me a sound and rational justification for spending insane amounts of money to show someone they are loved on one day in February.  Here is my argument against it: I will not love Amber any more on February 14, 2013 than I will on February 13, 2013, or I do today, or I will on February 15, 2013.  She does not need or want me wasting our hard-earned money on such foolishness.  I guess maybe I am just fortunate in that respect.

For years, women who I work with have scoffed when I tell them I get nothing for Amber.  They paint me as some sort of insensitive caveman, until they get a chance to hear Amber say that she would be upset if I did get anything for her.

If you plan on spending a ton of money on buying stuff for someone for Valentine’s Day, I urge you to reconsider.  If common sense and rational thought do not win out, I am going to spoil the surprise for you: the chocolate does not taste any better and the roses do not smell any sweeter just because you paid too much for them.

One of the very first entries on this blog was about how people willingly part with their money for the overpriced coffee that is Starbucks, but it very well could have been about Valentine’s Day.  You work hard for your money, so why throw it away so willingly on overpriced items?

Leave a Reply

