At Least Try To Think, Please

I was browsing my Twitter feed the other day, and something that MSNBC host Rachel Maddow shared caught my eye.  At first, I could not believe it, so I just had to dig a little deeper.

She shared a little nugget about Hurricane Katrina, and that is probably what it got my attention.  Not because I am from Louisiana or live there now, but because it has been 8 years, and what new information could there possibly be?

Apparently, I have a lot to learn.  It would seem as though some in the state want to blame President Obama for the response to Katrina.  That’s right, they want to blame President Obama, who, if you do not recall, was merely Senator Obama back in 2005.

You can check out the poll for yourself here, but here are the nuts-and-bolts of it:
*Of the 274 people polled, 29% (79 or 80 respondents) blamed President Obama for the slow response to Katrina.

My first thought was, “You have got to be kidding me.”  To echo what Rachel Maddow wrote, do Republicans in Louisiana really despise President Obama that much to where they feel the need to blame him for the federal response to Hurricane Katrina, forgetting the fact that George W. Bush was in office at the time?  I don’t understand the rationale or reasoning, if there is any, behind that line of thinking.

If you were to browse the archives of this blog for entries where I have written about President Obama, it is pretty clear where he stands with me.  I voted for him in 2008, and I voted for him in 2012.  Do I think he has done an amazing job?  There is room for improvement.  Do I blame him for Katrina?  Nope.  What about Hurricane Andrew, since I grew up in South Florida?  Nope.  I try to be realistic when it comes to what I expect from elected officials, and I try to do a good job in remembering who was responsible for a disaster response if and when I discuss said disaster.

If you want to criticize President Obama for the job he is (or isn’t doing), go right ahead.  But, please, at least try to think a little before you go an criticize or blame him for something that happened before he was even elected for his first term.

Leave a Reply

